First Connection to Rewilding

Today I made a connection…I just finished reading the book “Born to Run” by Christopher McDougall. AMAZING!

It exactly describes how I often visualise myself – that joy and abandon I dream of, but have not experienced in a long time.  I close my eyes and I can feel myself running, feeling like I am flying. I can feel the wind on my face and my lungs filling with life-giving air. There is a huge smile on my face and I know for certain I am free.

This is reclaiming my wildness. As in the book I have fought my whole life not to wear shoes, only putting them on if I absolutely have to.  My staples are bare feet and thongs (flip flops) – the latter only if I have to be “respectable”. Even these get kicked off as soon as I cross the threshold into my home (or anyone else’s home for that matter hahahaha).

Time to get back to nature, or as close to wilderness as I can get living in a town.  There are some great small hills near my home – great to begin my training.  I am going to do step 1 – barefoot for the walking and minimal shoes for my learning to run.

Important that I do as much barefoot as I can (without the stress of running) while I get the responses in my feet rewilded, get my muscles working propyl and build my bone strength.  I have a way to go to get from a soppy, under exercised slop to what I know is my birth right – a strong, agile, wild person – free spirited and in love with being alive.

Another day closer to releasing my wild….

Posted on December 16, 2014, in Wild Movement. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

